Beginning September 1 a list of laws will go into effect in the State of Texas that range from texting and driving to carrying swords in public. Here are a few of the new laws that are on the way.
First is the ban on texting and driving. The first offense will get you a fine that can range from $25 to $99. The law does allow for stereo control or GPS services.
Also beginning on September 1, Texas residents will be allowed to publicly carry bladed weapons over 5.5 inches. Yes, that means that people can now carry swords and machetes. However, the law does not let someone carry one of these weapons into sporting events, schools, bars, amusement parks, etc…
The list also includes amnesty for Sexual Assault Witnesses. Designed to battle on-campus sexual assaults, this will provide amnesty for anyone that witnesses or reports a sexual assault while also engaging in illegal activities such as public intoxication.
Fees for handgun licenses will be much lower. In fact, by dropping the license fee for concealed carry permits will bring the lowest rates in the U.S. The license fee for new owners will go drop from $140 to $40, and the fee to renew your license will drop from $70 to $40.
As of August 1, campus carry became legal in the State of Texas on public community colleges. (But not for swords (?))
Beginning in September, Lottery winners of $1,000,000 or more can remain anonymous to media outlets.
There will also be new protection for good Samaritans. If you think someone is in trouble you can now break their car window to get to them you cannot be sued for damages. There is already legislation in place to protect good samaritans from criminal charges.
Be careful where you fly your drone, beginning in September areas above correctional or immigration detention centers will no fly zones.
Attacking police officers is now officially considered a “hate crime” and can be prosecuted as such.
David’s Law goes into effect in the state of Texas on September 1 making cyber-bullying a Class A misdemeanor. Making it illegal “to harass or cyberbully someone under the age of 18 through texts, social media, websites or other means with the intent of causing them to commit suicide or harm themselves”.
For more, visit the Texas Legislature Online.