September 1 Brings Some New Laws into Effect in Texas

0

There are some new laws going into effect in Texas on September 1, 2021. Among them is the one most folks have heard about but maybe not studied on, HB1927 or what many call “Constitutional Carry”.

We are going to hit on some of the most publicized, but here is the LIST OF NEW LAWS ON SEPTEMBER 1 IN TEXAS.

HB-1927 – Constitutional Carry – Will allow Texans over the age of 21that are legally allowed to own a firearm to carry a handgun concealed/open-carry. This means that they do not have to go through the process of background checks and training for a permit. However, the individual must legally be allowed to own the firearm, and all are still subject to Federal Background Checks to purchase firearms.

HB-1335 – Medicinal Marijuana – Thousands of Texas will have expanded access to what is referred to as low-THC cannabis. However, this law also raises the dosage from .5% to 1%.

HB-1518 – Beer & Wine Sales on Sunday – This is pretty much just a time change. In Texas, the hours of sales of wine and beer on Sundays have been from 12 pm to 12 am. Now the hours will be 10:00 am to 12:00 am.

SB-4 – Star-Spangled Banner Protection Act – The United States National Anthem, the Star-Spangled Banner has drawn debate and drama over the last few years. To avoid incidents of disrespect some professional teams have opted to not play the National Anthem. This law makes it mandatory for a team that has contracts with the state to play the anthem before the start of all games.

HB-9 – Blocking Emergency Vehicles – Protestors that knowingly block an emergency vehicle with lights and an audible siren will face felony charges. The crime had been a class B misdemeanor.

SB-8 – Abortion Legislation/Heartbeat Bill – Many call it “the heartbeat bill” and bans abortion after the detection of a fetal heartbeat, which could be as early as 5 weeks. This also allows people to sue abortion providers or anyone that assisted in the abortion procedure. Including assistance such as providing a ride to the facility. The only exemption is if a medical doctor deems a medical emergency that makes the procedure necessary.

HB-929 – Body-Worn Cameras – Beginning September 1 police will be required to leave body-worn cameras on during investigations. Before, police could deactivate cameras if it were a simple encounter with a “non-confrontational” person. Now, cameras will be required to stay activated during investigations.

HB-1540 – Makes paying for sex a Felony.

More than 600 laws will go into effect on September 1, 2021. Here is a LINK.

Share.

About Author

After more than 30 years with radio and TV stations, I decided to do my own thing by blogging. It affords me the ability to stay super involved in the community, but still, have plenty of time with my 3 new granddaughters and other local projects.

Leave A Reply