Tiger Stadium to Host 2017 Four States Invitational Marching Contest


Texarkana, TX – In the mood for some marching music, then Tiger Stadium at Grim Park is where you will want to be on Saturday, October 7 from 10:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.as it becomes the host facility for the annual Four States Invitational Marching Contest. 

An expected 4,000 students representing 22 schools from the four states area will be in attendance and will wow the crowd with their unique marching abilities. The event will be followed with an awards ceremony that begins at 5:00 p.m.

The Four States Invitational Marching Contest brings together the musical and marching talents of area bands as they prepare for regional contests.  Admission is     $5 per adult and $3 per student.  The public is invited to attend.

Judges for this year’s contest are:  Benjamin Davis, retired Band Coordinator for Rockwall-Heath High School in Rockwall, TX; Dr. Craig Hamilton, Professor of Music-Coordinator of Instrumental Studies – Chairman of Music Education at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, AR; Dr. Steven Knight, Director of Bands for Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, AR.

Percussion judge will be Aaron Seal, Director of Percussion for Arkadelphia High School in Arkadelphia, AR.  Drum Majors will be judged by Kara Compton, Head Middle School Band Director & Color Guard Instructor for Texarkana ISD and Color Guards will be judged by Phyllis Deese, Director of Human Resources for Texarkana College.

Schedule of performance are as follows:

11:00 a.m.                   Queen City High School

11:15 a.m.                   Maud High School

11:30 a.m.                   Logansport High School

11:45 a.m.                   James Bowie High School

Noon                           Linden-Kildare High School

12:15 p.m.                   Fouke High School

12:30 p.m.                   BREAK

12:45 p.m.                   Rivercrest High School

1:00 p.m.                     Jefferson High School

1:15 p.m.                     Hooks High School

1:30 p.m.                     Prairiland High School

1:45 p.m.                     Ashdown High School

2:00 p.m.                     Benton High School

2:15 p.m.                     Redwater High School

2:30 p.m.                     BREAK

2:45 p.m.                     C. E. Byrd High School

3:00 p.m.                     Liberty Eylau High School

3:15 p.m.                     Pleasant Grove High School

3:30 p.m.                     Atlanta High School

3:45 p.m.                     Mt. Pleasant High School

4:00 p.m.                     Airline High School

4:15 p.m.                     Arkansas High School

4:30 p.m.                     John Tyler High School

4:45 p.m.                     Texas High School

5:00 p.m.                     Awards Ceremony

(TISD submitted Press Release)


About Author

Broadcaster for more than 30 years, then started blogging. Now I hardly ever put on clothes.

Leave A Reply